stillskate.blogg.se

Monopoly properties
Monopoly properties











monopoly properties

Since my table saw was set to it's highest cutting height I decided to use some rough 1" x 4" x 22" walnut. A clamp and a sturdy surface to work on makes this job easier.Īs you can see from the photos, there is a darker underlay of 's walnut that I had available. Taking my belt sander to one of these pieces I tried to smooth it down to the same thickness as the maple boards. Safety glasses and protective clothing is recommended. Use a push stick and go slowly through the saw as it cuts. Please use extreme caution when doing this as it can cause serious injury. Because my table saw had to be set to it's highest cut setting I was very careful when ripping the board to approximately 1/2" x 4. The ash pieces I used a piece of 1" x 4" x 22". Of course these boards were trimmed to length. The groove edge was going to be to the outside of the game board. This gave me one side squared and the other side with the groove. The first thing I did was to cut the maple boards on the table saw to get rid of the tongue of the tongue and groove. I manufactured the corner pieces from some ash wood just to make things interesting and to match the 3" x 3" square corners to the maple.Ĥ pieces of maple 3/8" x 3" x 14" flooring

monopoly properties

Finding a flooring that was 3/8" x 3" maple these pieces were what I wanted for the game board. The corner pieces are square and roughly 3"x 3". Each property is approximately 1 7/8" x 3". There is a boarder around the cardboard board so that was included in my measurement.

monopoly properties

Having an old cardboard Monopoly board I measured out the dimensions of the properties. Be sure that it is real hardwood and not the MDF laminate. Maple.oak,cherry and sometimes an exotic wood can be found in the flooring department. I found that in the flooring section of your local hardware/ home renovation store there were boxes and boxes of different kinds of hardwood flooring ranging in thicknesses of 3/4" to 3/8". I didn't want it to be too heavy, but I did want it to be sturdy and durable. The other deciding factor was the weight of the game board. Since I don't have a fully equipped shop it had to be wood that I could easily use that was straight and either finished or not. The first thing I had to do was to decide what kind of wood to use. I was looking to build something for a Christmas gift and after a lot of searching for the right project I found some ideas on building a game board and drawer. Hey there.so you are looking for a unique gift or a project that satisfies the need to build something familiar and fun, well, here it is.a Monopoly Board with a drawer for holding the game pieces and cards.













Monopoly properties